I know you’re at a complete loss for what to do with all the leftover cabbage from your St. Patrick’s day cooking (somehow leftover whiskey never presents such a problem).

So I’m here to help.

I’d picked up half a head of cabbage (they’re HUGE here!) from the veggie store, and later decided I didn’t feel like making coleslaw anyway. This happens to me a lot, usually with ingredients that I’m hard pressed to find new uses for. Luckily, my daily Everyday Food email hit my inbox with the perfect recipe: Pork Chops with Bacon and Cabbage.

I’m sort of a recipe simplifier by default; after all, I’m working with a 12″ oven, a stove that must be lit with matches, and a set of pots that all manage to scorch everything I cook. Did you know it’s possible to burn soup? It is.

So rather than whip out a roasting pan, which I don’t have, to make this recipe, I used a regular (scorching, uneven bottomed) pot.

Brown a few chopped slices of bacon in a good sized pot. Remove. Salt and pepper both sides of four breakfast chops and brown them in the bacon fat. Remove. Add a sliced onion (half rings) to the pot, and more oil if necessary. Cook until soft. Throw the reserved bacon back into the pot. Add a head of cabbage (or a half head, depending on the size of the cabbage), chopped into bite size strips. Stir in 3 T flour. Blend in 3 cups of milk and cook until sauce is slightly thickened. Add salt and pepper to taste. Push the pork chops back into the pot under a layer of sauce and cabbage, put the lid on the pot and heat until cooked through, about 5-10 minutes depending on the thickness of your chops. Serve each pair of chops with a generous heap of cabbage and sauce.

For my lactose-intolerant friends, this recipe could easily be made substituting broth for the milk. Enjoy!

