One of the things that amuses me the most is when people tell me I live in one of the world’s gastronomic capitals. To be sure, there are a ton of restaurants, and I recently had a lovely menu del dia (prix fixe lunch) at El Jardi L’abadessa, located in one of Barcelona’ most exclusive neighborhoods. Unfortunately, for plebeians like myself, who live in the cheaper areas of the city, restaurants serve, without fail, the same 10 items. This usually consists of a range of bocadillos (sandwiches of plain meat on bread) and fritos (fried plates – croquettes or calamari).

However, every once in a while, you find a place that steps out of the box:

Goodness, what doesn’t this place serve?

I’ll have a hamburger… with a side of kebab, and throw in a roast chicken, too.

Here’s the same SUPER EXCITED and badly photoshopped woman from my last post on Spanish junk mail:

Only, this time, she’s super excited about “nachos” and “tortillas.”

This isn’t racist at all… (also, frozen sushi???)

Finally, Spain: home of the magical levitating pizza slice:

