Here in Spain, I’m often faced with cuts of meat that I don’t recognize, especially since I tend to buy things in the “value pack” size, which often contains several different cuts. I’m not sure what part of the pork this is – loin? shoulder? but I tend to stew or braise it until it falls apart.

In this recipe, I braise the meat in an adobo-inspired sauce until it falls apart, then simmer noodles in the same sauce. The resulting pasta is meaty, tangy, and absolutely delicious. You can use pork stew meat, or ribs, or whatever mystery pieces float your boat.

Pork pasta, adobo style

I used this recipe from the New York times for inspiration as well as this article from the Houston Press. Since I don’t have apple cider vinegar, I made the marinade from 1 part apple juice to 1 part vinegar. I added a healthy slug of jalapeno juice and a few ounces of soy sauce, crushed garlic cloves, and peppercorns. Marinate overnight.

Strain the peppercorns and garlic out of the marinade. Braise the meat in the marinade until falling apart – 2 to 3 hours depending on your cut of meat. Remove the meat to a pan and shred it. While you shred the meat, add a few rounds of egg noodles to the pan and let them cook in the sauce. The starch from the pasta will thicken the sauce while the sauce flavors the pasta.

Toss the meat with the noodles and serve!

