I’m a lucky, lucky girl.

I have the best friends, EVER. They send me care packages with this in them:

The week this arrived, I had been planning on substituting polenta for grits, to make shrimp & polenta. But I think (almost) anyone would agree: shrimp & grits are 1000x better. Especially if you’re from the south. Y’all know what I’m talkin’ about!

Everyday Shrimp & Grits

Put a pot of grits on and cook as directed.

Meanwhile, chop up a few strips of bacon and crisp them up in a pan. Add one onion, sliced thinly into half-rounds, and a few thinly sliced cloves of garlic. Brown. Open up a can of whole tomatoes in their juices and crush the tomatoes with your hands. Dump it all in with the onion and bacon, stir, and bring to a boil.

Add peeled, deveined shrimp, and cook through, about 5 minutes.

Stir a generous pat of butter into the grits and spoon onto plates. Top with shrimp, and serve with a couple sunny side up eggs on the side. Nothin’ like shrimp sauce, butter, and eggs on grits!

