I’m a pretty opportunistic baker, in that when I really want something but don’t quite have all the ingredients, I google until I find a close enough approximation, then wing it and hope for the best.

This unique recipe yields a more cake like texture than the dense, crumbly “banana bread” most of us are used to. I liked it! I hope you do, too.

Rich Banana Cake

Adapted from AllRecipes.com

Cream together 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup sugar. Add 3 eggs and beat well. Add 1 cup flour, 1 t baking powder, a smidge of salt and a scoop of instant coffee. Mix in 1-2 mashed bananas (I had 1 and a half. Don’t ask me how I ended up with half a banana in my freezer) and a handful of chopped walnuts.

Pour batter into a buttered and floured cake pan. Bake at 350F or 180C about 30 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

