I am all kinds of excited because my mother in law brought me a scale when she came over. Now I can bake things without struggling/approximating badly the pounds to grams conversion!

The problem is that I cannot for the life of me find baking soda. That’s okay. I can still make biscuits, muffins, scones and bread.

When I came across these Mississippi Delta Cathead Biscuits in an article from the Houston Press celebrating Elvis Day, I just had to try them. They just looked so dang fun and authentic.

I excitedly mixed up the dough early one morning only to have it turn into a gloppy, wet mess with no chance of kneading in any way, shape or form. Unhappily, I dumped a little more flour into the dough-cum-batter but kept myself from mixing it more, remembering past biscuit failures. I decided to just pour the whole thing into a pan and hope for the best (my life philosophy, come to think of it).

What I got was a tender, moist, not really flaky but still tasty giant biscuit with an additively crunchy bottom crust. It was, in fact, delicious, sliced in half and slathered with butter and cane syrup. So give the recipe a shot, and don’t despair if it doesn’t form a dough. Just pop it in the oven and keep going!