This year, I have so dang much to be thankful for.

I had the most amazing summer traveling across the country and fulfilling a life long dream of visiting America’s National parks.

I gave birth to the most amazing baby (to me anyway 🙂 )

I moved to Spain, fulfilling another life long dream of living in Europe.

I quit a job that I hated.

I have a wonderful, supportive, ambitious husband who loves me dearly.

And I have awesome, amazing friends who ship me cans of French’s Fried Onions so I can make a very special Christmas dinner for my little family!

I’ll assume you already know how to make green bean casserole. If not, just pick up a can of French’s Fried Onions and read the recipe on the back! Here’s the steak & guiness pie I served with the onions. Delicious!

Steak & Guinness Pie

Toss 1 kg of beef stew chunks in flour, salt, and pepper and brown in the oil of your choice. Set aside. Add 2 chopped onions, 3 chopped carrots and brown. Add the beef back along with a can or bottle of Guinness. Add cider to cover. Simmer, cover, and cook until beef is tender, about 2 hours.

Remove beef, onions, and carrots from the broth with a slotted spoon and put in baking dish. Using a flour slurry, thicken the remaining broth into a rich gravy and pour over the meat. Top with the pastry topping of your choice and bake until done.


