There’s an entire aisle devoted to pickles at my local Carrefour, and not one jar of dill pickles.

Pickled asparagus, pickled green beans, beets, peppers, and more line the shelves. If I make a field trip to El Corte Ingles, I can find sweet gherkin-style pickles both large and small, pickles speared on a toothpick with onions and peppers, jars of German style and Hungarian style pickles. But I didn’t want to buy a jar and be disappointed. So I made my own.

These were perfect, with the spot-on garlic dill flavor, and now I just keep a jar of brine in my fridge that I refill periodically with pickles. The most accurately “garlic dill” flavor and texture comes from pouring the hot brine over the packed pickles, but cold-brining works just fine for my purposes.  So easy, I can’t believe I never tried it before!

Garlic Dill Pickles

Recipe courtesy of Food in Jars

Slice a bunch of cucumbers into coins, spears, or whatever you like. You can even leave them whole if you want. Pack them into a clean glass jar and add a pinch of dill seed, a shake of black peppercorn, and a few smashed garlic cloves to the jar. Add dried red pepper flakes if you want.

On the stove, bring equal parts vinegar and water to a simmer, with a spoonfulof salt. Pour the hot brine into your pickle jar. Let cool, then pop it in the fridge.

I’d comment on how long they stay good, but they go really quickly in this house so I haven’t the foggiest clue!

