I could have no other pots but a cast iron skillet and a dutch oven and I would be happy.  Since I bought them, these two items have been the mainstays of my kitchen.  Knowing that they’d see rough use, I didn’t bother to get any sort of designer brands – my items are Lodge brand, straight from Target and each about $20.  With a little home seasoning, they’ve become glossy, black, and on their way to nonstick.  They are what I reach for when I can’t think of anything else to cook in.

In this case, well, I probably would have baked brownies in a pan, if I had one.  But both my pans seemed to have walked off, and it doesn’t seem prudent to buy new ones just now.  So, brownies in a cast iron skillet it was – and it produced the most lovely, crisp crust!

These brownies are a little more cake-like than I would have wanted but still have a fantastic chocolately flavor, and a wonderfully toothsome crust.

crispy skillet brownies

Melt 1/2 c butter in a saucepan over low heat.  Add 2 oz bittersweet chocolate and a good heap (really, I didn’t measure it) of cocoa powder.  Stir gently until chocolate melts.

Beat 4 egg whites, 1 c sugar and a splash of vanilla.  Mix in the butter/chocolate mixture, stirring the whole time.  Meanwhile, preheat the oven to 350 degrees with the cast iron in it.  When it is hot, take the pan out and melt a dab of butter in the bottom to grease the pan.

Gently fold 1/3 c flour and 1/2 c chopped nuts (if desired) into the chocolate mixture until just blended.  Tip the batter into the prepared pan. Edit: I forgot a key step! Sprinkle the top of the brownie with coarse salt! Bake for 35 minutes or just until set.  Cool before slicing.

