These potatoes are Matt’s new favorite thing. It doesn’t really matter what you serve them with.  They’re magical – crispy on the outside, tender inside, salty and delicious.  If your husband is like mine, you should probably make twice as much as you think you need.  Since making them the first time with salmon, I’ve used the same technique on a quickly broiled NY strip.  Works great, as long as you keep an eye on the potatoes to make sure they don’t get too crispy!

This recipe came from a Martha Stewart cookbook that I found at the library.  Martha and I have a complex relationship.  Somehow, we accidentally started getting her Living magazine when Matt ordered a bunch of magazines to use up expiring airline miles (we also started getting Golf as well, and neither one of us plays… at least, plays well).  In the beginning, I flipped through her magazine and scoffed.  Napkin rings made of toilet paper rolls?  Pages and pages on DIY weathering techniques? The endlessly chipper articles were painfully “You can DO it!”  Then I tried one of her recipes for the first time.

I have to hand it to the lady. She somehow manages to make things fast, easy, and delicious (the fresh is up to you!) on a consistently awesome basis.  I was hooked, and now regularly check her website for recipes that I know I can count on.  When I saw Dinner at Home at the library, I picked it up and began cooking my way through it.  So far, with few exceptions, everything has turned out fantastic.  Matt marvels on a daily basis at how I can put together 3 course meals in less than an hour.  I know I sound like an ad, but it’s pretty amazing to me, too!

Salmon & Fingerling Potatoes (From Martha Stewart’s Dinner at Home)

Most of the recipes in this book are “duh!” simple.  The pairings come naturally and the techniques are easy.  Somehow, they all seem original.  Just another bit of Martha magic, I guess.

Halve 1 lb fingerling potatoes and toss with olive oil, salt, and pepper.  Place potatoes in a pan (cast iron skillet in my case) in a single layer.  Roast at 400 degrees for 30 minutes, tossing halfway through.

Salt and pepper a salmon fillet and brush with olive oil.  Pushing the potatoes to the side, add the salmon to the pan.  Roast about 25 min for medium rare, longer for your desired doneness.  While salmon is roasting, prepare a compound of softened butter, mustard, and chopped thyme.  Dab finished salmon and potatoes with the mustard-herb butter and serve hot.

