My mother in law has taken to baking homemade doggie treats for our two pups. She says she makes them because, unlike human treats, she isn’t tempted to eat them all – though they’re perfectly good for human consumption, they aren’t as sweet or buttery as cookies. As is her way, she puts as much care and attention to detail into the doggie treats as she did every Christmas baking dozens of cookies for the family.

My dogs always know when the package arrives for them. From the instant I step into the house, my doberman’s nose is glued to the box in my hands, while my terrier bounces around below, trying to reach. They hover around the table as I unwrap the package (always insulated in multiple layers of cushioning and tape) and for weeks after, beg at the counter where I leave the treats.

Here’s the assortment this time:

Clockwise from top: Carob chip Cookies, Peanut Butter Squirrels, Snickerdoodle Toes, Peanut Butter and Banana Fire Hydrants.

Please, please, please let me have the Peanut Butter Squirrel. I sat, I lay down, and now I look at you with hopeful eyes.

We are trying to convince the mother in law to try selling these treats, as they’re immensely popular and all natural!

