One of the most wonderful things about being a home cook with the internet at my fingers is the ready availability of wonderful food blogs, many featuring recipes galore.  It can make the combination of websites, books, emails, and magazines overwhelming at times.  When in doubt, I always turn to my trusty Joy of Cooking. Classic recipes trusted since 1931, how can you go wrong? My mother in law always shakes her head in amusement when I cook, usually with something pulled up on my blackberry, another on my laptop, and a book propped up on the trusty cookbook stand she thoughtfully installed under my cabinets.

These buns were made using a Joy of Cooking recipe, although I looked to The Pioneer Woman for inspiration.  Fresh out of the oven, they were hot and tasty, although in the future I would like to find a more buttery roll recipe, as they didn’t keep very well. Luckily, I’ll have a third member of the family soon enough here to scarf up all my leftover rolls before they go stale!

Rosemary cloverleaf buns (from the Joy of Cooking)

Proof 1 package yeast in 3T warm water and 1T sugar until foamy.  Add 1C warm milk, 5T melter butter, 2T sugar, 1 large egg and 1t salt.  Mix on low speed or with fork.  Gradually add 2C bread flour and 1 1/2 to 2C all purpose flour until dough is no longer sticky.  Knead for 10 minutes by hand until smooth and elastic. Carefully add more flour if necessary.  Transfer the dough to an oiled dough and turn to coat with oil.  Cover loosely with plastic wrap and let rise until doubled in volume, 1 to 1 1/2 hours.

Punch dough, knead briefly, and refrigerate for 30 minutes.  Divide the dough equally into 12 pieces and roll each piece into a ball.  Loosely cover with plastic wrap and let rest for 10 minutes.  Divide each ball into three small pieces and roll each into a tiny ball (about the size of a ping pong ball or smaller). Grease a 12 cup muffin pan and place three balls into each cup in the shape of a clover.  Cover with plastic wrap and let rise until doubled in volume, about 1 hour.

Preheat the oven to 425F.  Brush the tops of the rolls with melted butter and sprinkle with rosemary and coarse salt.  Don’t skimp on the salt! Brush with additional butter and bake until golden, about 15 minutes.

