On my recent trip to the oft-touted Best BBQ in Texas, we did some nice hiking (although to be honest… there was more munching on leftover BBQ than actual hiking) in Bastrop state park and were able to make a stop in the surprisingly cute and friendly town of Bastrop before driving home.  Friendly, I say, because the very sweet owner of a beautiful antiques store invited our entire crew in, including my bumbling 95 lb Doberman.  He doesn’t have much regard for antiques, and though I was careful to look only with my eyes, the same can’t be said for my dog, who seems to only understand the world through licking…

After noon on Saturday, many of the Main Street shops were shut up, and we could only peek through many windows in longing.  A walk past the storefront of Lock Drugs, an old tyme soda shoppe, was enough to set my mind on the quest for a root beer float:

A sign for Lock Drugs

We wandered down Main Street, peeking into this store and that, looking for signs of ice cream.  Finally, we came upon the Richard Family Bakery, a cavernous space which seemed all the more empty for the few patrons.  Beautiful, frosted cupcakes contrasted with rather sad loaves of bread suffocating in plastic – but – success? Was that a soft serve machine? Alas, it was broken!

Richard Bakery Cupcakes

In despair, and having traversed the entire length of Main Street, we got in the car to head home.  I had an ace up my sleeve, though.  Driving into town, we had passed a sign which no one else in the car had noticed (they had all been asleep)…

I pulled into the driveway…

and cha-CHING! This is how I felt…

They had candy, chocolate, ice cream (floats, sundaes, toppings, mix ins, cones), toys, cake, fudge, brittle, chocolate dipped everything, and more.  The store is filled with nostalgic candy, cute signs such as the one above, the people are friendly, and best of all, there’s a nice big patio out front with rocking chairs for you to sit in and eat your ice cream.  It’s the bee’s knees!

And Matt was pretty happy too:

