I was going to make chicken last week but at the meat counter found myself engaged in an epic inner struggle.  The sudden onset of fall drew me inexorably toward beef shanks – lovely, meaty, please-braise-me food that results in rich drinkable broth and bones for the dogs.  Please, no hate comments, I am a responsible dog owner.

After 15 minutes of debate, (did I draw stares? probably) I did buy the shanks and ended up making this lovely recipe.  Please do yourself the favor of serving it with something which soaks up sauce – bread, or mashed potatoes.  The corn cake was pretty, but came from a healthy cook book, and therefore was also somewhat flavorless.  (In the process I discovered possibly the most USELESS CORNBREAD RECIPE EVER which will also not be reprinted here).

shank

Garlic Braised Beef Shanks

from epicurious

This recipe will fill your home with the most amazing aromas.  Enjoy!

Salt and pepper 2 beef shanks and brown all over in a hot skillet.  Place in a dutch oven and surround with 1 head of garlic, peeled if you wish, 1 bay leaf, 3 roughly chopped celery ribs, and 4 sprigs of fresh thyme.  Braise in a 350 degree oven for 2-3 hours – until the meat falls off the bone.

Remove meat from broth; strain broth.  Skim, and reduce as necessary to form a rich sauce.

