It’s fall again.  Ok, a yearly thing, I admit.  Two things happen to me in the fall: I cook more and I start taking out library books (& football, but that’s a given).  I crave stews, soups, and long-preparation foods that would never have been made in the summer, even though my house is fully air conditioned and even though, conversely, the Texas fall doesn’t cool enough for me to need warming.  My trend toward comforting foods is wholly irrational but never fails, and this is one my mom used to make all the time:

cauliflower

cauliflower soup

Wash and trim a head of cauliflower; chop into bite-sized pieces.  Saute a chopped onion in a little oil until brown.  Add cauliflower pieces and saute a few minutes.  Add stock to cover, cook until just cooked through.  Remove from heat and stir in a big spoonful of sour cream.  Season to taste and serve hot!

