My expat Dallas friend, Joni (@jabuck1979, website here), paid me a long awaited visit last weekend.  I miss having her in Houston so much, and took the opportunity to take her to all my favorite haunts (as well as discover a few new ones).  One of the things she lamented was a complete lack of coffee shops near her house, even a Starbucks, so of course I had to take her to the coffee places near my neighborhood in the Heights.  And since David Buehrer (@greenwaybarista, blog here) isn’t open on weekends, we went to Catalina Coffee on Washington.

catalina 2

catalina 1

Joni got a mocha and I got a latte.  The cozy, dark cafe was the perfect setting in which to sit and slowly savor our beautiful, smooth and soothing beverages.  As we sat and caught up I wished we could meet and chat every weekend, but if only once in a while, over these delicious coffees was the best way.

