Location: Houston

Date of Visit: 12/08/08

In honor of the Rockets this season, I thought I would break out a review that’s been sitting in my draft box for several months now…

“This is really surreal” I thought to myself as I sat at the bar at Yao Restaurant & Bar, watching the Rockets game as Yao fouled yet again. A (literally) small contingent of very non-stereotypical basketball fans had gathered around the huge plasma screen TVs to watch the end of the game.

We went to the bar to watch the football game, but were not surprised to find 2 out of the 3 TVs playing the basketball game. A change of pace is nice every once in a while. My better half only grudgingly eats Chinese food, unless I make it at home. He’s a huge fan of P.F. Chang’s, but it’s just not the same as Szechuan Hot Pot.  So we changed it up this time and tried Yao.

I was pleasantly surprised. Spring rolls were fresh and crispy, and served with a trio of dipping sauces, although with only three rolls I only got to taste test the three sauces.  The hunny enjoyed his wonton soup and General Tso’s chicken, and I was pleased with my pan fried noodles.  Portions were large enough (hehe) for us to have plenty of leftovers (except for the three spring rolls, which were gone), and it was quite fun to sit at the bar and watch the game with the rest of the Yaos.

