I may have mentioned before that stir fry is one of my go-to easy to make dinners… as it is with many people, I know. Tonight was no different (last night my go-to easy dinner was quesadillas). Here we have my stir fry prep. I am incredibly lazy. I hate using the grown up chef knife unless I have to, so a small paring knife was used to cut everything in this photo. The items you see here, plus the knife and one pan, are all I used to make dinner. In fact, I am SO lazy, instead of “marinating” the meat, I just poured cooking wine and soy sauce directly over the cut up meat on the cutting board. Yup.

In the little silver cup there’s a little cooking wine. In the bottle we have soy sauce. The broccoli was stir fried with oyster sauce. I know health code says we should always separate our vegetable chopping boards from our meat chopping boards but I say 1) I chop the veggies on the board first 2) I’m chopping beef on the board and 3) Everything is going to be thoroughly cooked anyway, I promise. Even the beef, because this is stir fry.

So here is the one pan method. I do not have a wok (much as I do not have a frittata pan), but I do have a slope sided skillet. Heat a little oil in a slope sided skillet and toss in a few pieces of garlic. Once hot, toss in your beef and turn the heat up to high. Get out your wooden stir frying apparatus and stir fry until the beef is good and cooked. Remove beef, set aside. In the same skillet, heat a little more oil over medium heat, add more garlic. Add all that onion (three sweet onions from Central Market- they have huge onions!). When they start to sizzle, add a little water and a little soy sauce. Stir fry until onions are soft and brown. Add back the beef and heat through. Remove beef & onions, set aside.

In the same skillet, heat some more oil and remaining garlic. Toss in the broccoli (carefully, don’t splash any oil, now). Add about a half a cup of water and slosh in some oyster sauce. Turn up that heat to high and let that water boil. When the water is hot, mix up the broccoli. You want the broccoli to be just cooked, not mushy, but cooked all the way through. Option: If you have more beef, or if you didn’t have quite as many onions as I did, you could always have beef & broccoli as well. I had so many onions I had to use all my beef for my onions to keep the proportions right.

Here’s the finished product. Total time start to finish, eating, cleanup, photo upload & post: 2 hrs. Serve with rice:

