Oh no. I was staunchly asked to remember this meal so I could recreate it, but looking at the pictures, I am having a hard time remembering now what all went into it.

Let’s see.

The green stuff… now that was kale, I believe (someone took the last bunch of rainbow swiss chard at the store, grrrr). I sauteed it with a little cider vinegar, sugar, salt and a lot of fresh ground pepper and the tang of the vinegar was wonderful. I tried to recreate this later with swiss chard and went overboard with the vinegar/sugar mixture. The vegetables ended up tasting like sour candies.

The puff pastries were two kinds.

One was filled with… chicken roasted in the oven with riesling, chopped onions and golden raisins. I put the onions and raisins in the filling as well as some of the honey-goat cheese from the quesadillas.

The other was filled with ground cooked chorizo, feta cheese, and olives.

[EDIT] The method used to roast the chicken was thus: Rub chicken all over with herbs. Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Sear them quickly in an oven proof skillet, then slide skillet into the oven. Roast for 20 minutes. Add a cup of wine to the pan and roast for 10 more minutes. Flip chicken. Add onions and raisins to the pan and roast 20 minutes more. Cook times can be reduced for boneless pieces.

The chicken one was better but both were delicious. Pepperidge farm puff pastry is a blessing! I wanted to do this last week with roasted root veggies but did not have time.

