I enriched this amazing beef stew with some of the deliciously rich turkey broth. I really think the key to the turkey broth this time around was the addition of those chicken necks, which added the key richness, and the brining of the turkey, which made the leftover bones very flavorful and juicy. If you’ve heard the news, you know it snowed recently in Houston, so it was perfect stew weather.

This stew recipe results in tender, falling-apart meat, and mouth watering sauce, but I am not sure about the technique, which calls for tossing the vegetables that add flavor to the sauce in favor of new vegetables. The new vegetables are not as soft and prettier than the ones that have been cooking for 4 hours, and I suppose their flavor is fresher, but it makes me sad to throw out the others. The nice thing is, I have dogs, and they are always hungry… so I never need to feel guilty.


Beef Stew
sort of adapted from Gourmet

Cube, salt & pepper, and brown 3 pounds of beef chuck in olive oil. Remove meat, add 3 carrots, quartered, 3 celery ribs, quartered, 2 onions, quartered, and 1 head of garlic, halved crosswise. When brown, add a can of tomato paste (one of those little cans), 1/3 c balsamic vinegar, and cook for a few minutes. Add a bottle of wine. I tend to cook with whatever wine I have sitting in my fridge at the moment… add 2 bay leaves and 3 sprigs of thyme. Boil until reduced by 2/3.

Add 3 cups of broth to the pot along with beef and any beef juices. Bring to a simmer, cover, and braise in 350 degree oven for 2.5 hours.

Remove from oven. Separate solids from liquids in pot. Return meat to pot. Do what you will with veggies (sad!). Prepare 2 lbs white potatoes and 1 lb carrots in a pretty manner (peel, slice) and add to the broth and meat. Cook for about 40 minutes until new veggies are soft.

Very tasty despite the waste of veggies…

