Of course, I have to make turkey stock from the turkey carcass. This year, I was infinitely smarter and saved some chicken necks in the weeks before Thanksgiving from the chickens I bought for various meals. I was also infinitely stupider, and in my exhausted stupor (one should not begin the stock making process at 9 PM), poured the hot stock into mason jars that I promptly transferred into the freezer. 3 out of my 6 jars broke. As I would like for some of you brave readers to still eat meals in my household and I would like for some people to still heed my cooking advice, I will not tell you what I did with the jars that broke.

The chicken necks and turkey carcass (which I brined this year) made the most delicious stock I have ever made. So, I recreated a meal I had made in November – grilled kielbasa – but with whipped potatoes, delicious gravy made with the turkey stock, and the red cabbage leftover from Thanksgiving. Yum…

