One of my favorite soups is a very simple recipe, developed by my mother as a poor college student in Austria. The story goes that one day she had very little in her pantry (and very little in her wallet), but it was a frigid Austrian winter and she wanted something comforting and warm. So she simply cooked peas in chicken bouillon. That’s all it is, and it is such a delicious, simple, comforting dish. Sometimes I throw rice in to make it a little heartier.

This recipe tries to get fancy. In fact, the real recipe even calls for poached eggs on top of each toast. It calls for a spice sachet, onions sauteed in butter, peas, and toasts. At the end of the day I think it could have greatly benefited from my mom’s simple addition of chicken bouillon. Well, at least it’s pretty!

Another favorite soup recipe from my mother is her cauliflower soup… another amazingly simple and delicious meal. Saute a little onion in some oil. Add a chopped head of cauliflower, broth, salt and pepper. Simmer. Remove from heat and add sour cream.

These fancy recipes with their spice sachets try to get too serious and up in their business. It’s just soup!

