This is an unstuffed stuffed cabbage. That’s right, thinking out of the box. And taking a page from Gourmet.

My unstuffed stuffed cabbage isn’t as pretty as the one in Gourmet. Rather than looking like a halved raw cabbage artfully draped with a few strips of tomato and festooned with dollops of carefully browned meat, my cabbage is soft and covered in red, pungent sauce. It looks like rice & beans, with a side of cabbage. What can I say, I don’t have a full time food artist on staff, plus I actually cooked my cabbage. Plus, I thought this would be tasty with rice, and I was right.

unstuffed cabbage (cabbage with tangy tomato sauce)
via Gourmet (mostly)

Quarter a cabbage and put the quarters in a pan with 1/2 cup of chicken broth and a sliced garlic clove. Bring to a simmer and cover. In a separate pot, brown a sliced onion and 2 sliced garlic cloves in some olive oil. Add 1/2 lb each ground chuck and ground pork and brown. Salt and pepper to taste. Stir in one 28 oz can crushed tomatoes (recipe calls for whole tomatoes but this is what I had on hand, probably accounts for why mine is more like sauce), 1 c dried cranberries, 3 T red wine vinegar and 1 T brown sugar. Simmer appx 20 minutes, during which you should turn the cabbage in the chicken broth once or twice. Add the tomato sauce to the cabbage, simmer uncovered to heat through and serve.

