I will fully admit that I am hopeless at baking (two things I can make: cupcakes and cookies). Baking takes a kind of alchemy, a science, and a knowledge of a language that I don’t understand. I don’t know when a dough is stiff, and when I realize that I’ve added too much flour it’s too late, I can’t save whatever it is I’m making. I’m a poor judge of when to stop flouring my hands or a cutting board and end up with incredibly dry paste that falls apart and crumbles. Yeast is not my friend. Even when I had a bread machine, I made it overflow on a regular basis. That’s why I’m truly thankful for baking mixes, which allow bumbling idiots like myself to enjoy the delights of a hot oven. Because let’s face it, few things are more wonderful than fresh baked anything, straight out of the oven.

Sticky Fingers bakery has some delightful scone mixes, and I had a bag in the pantry. Lately I’ve been getting their plain mix and throwing in dried or frozen fruits (frozen blueberries turned into a beautiful Monet like mosaic). This week, I had some cheddar left from the broccoli cheddar soup and as always, some red onions in the fridge, so I made me some red onion and cheddar scones. The beautiful thing about scones is how they can go savory or sweet, though in the future I would add more salt to this mix when attempting savory. These scones are yums, though! I couldn’t stop thinking about them on the drive into work today, gotta remember to bring some tomorrow…

