I do try to make a point of trying all kinds of cuisines, but Indian food is not one that I often cook. The spices are not an excuse, as I have them all on hand. The reason probably has more to do with the prep methods and the fact that the dishes just aren’t top of mind.
Well, last month, Matt requested Indian food. I made Chicken Korma and Mutter Paneer. They both turned out well, and I very much wanted to post the recipe for Mutter Paneer, but now (horrors!) I can’t find it again! And it’s been weeks since I cooked this, so the page is no longer in my browser history.

I will try to recreate it as best I can from memory…


A possible recipe for mutter paneer (?)

Grind 2 T tomato paste, 2 cloves of garlic, some ginger, and 1 huge, or 2 regular sized, red onions in a food processor to form a paste. Add garam masala, cumin, coriander, salt… maybe tumeric? Heat the mixture over medium heat until thickened or most of the moisture has been cooked out… 10 minutes, maybe. Add some frozen peas and cook for another few minutes. Stir in cubes of paneer and some melted butter (preferably ghee if you aren’t lazy like me). Serve sprinkled with a little more garam masala.

This recipe looks pretty good… though a little watery- I would not add so much water- and I would blend the ingredients in the pot before adding the cheese and peas.

