Things I have cooked but not posted about and why:
A swiss chard and bacon pasta that was pretty good but not spectacular. Basically- red onion, swiss chard, linguine, topped with bacon. I bet it would be tasty if you added some golden raisins and plumped them up in some broth. But now I have a huge container of it in my fridge that needs to be eaten and no one in the house really likes it enough to finish it.
A highly anticipated peppered beef shank dish that was cooked in the oven at 200 degrees for 8 hours. The idea was to cook it until it fell apart into the chianti, garlic, and black pepper it was cooked in. The problem was that the very vague recipe it came from specified FOUR TABLESPOONS of pepper, and I failed to put nearly enough beef in. The result? Extremely salty, exceedingly peppery beef shanks that were okay, but definitely didn’t live up to the hype.
Sauteed summer squash that sort of saved the beef shanks. Unfortunately, I didn’t take pictures, but the dish is pretty self explanatory. Summer squash, diced onion, and toasted garlic. Summer squash is one of my favorite vegetables!
